31 January 2011

New Vivian Girls Album

Still a few months to go, but we got album art and tracklist. Dropping April 12th via Polyvinyl, the new home for the band. You can pre-order it already, and it looks like it'll ship a week and a half early. There's also a new drummer, and the record was made at Rear House under the supervision of Jarvis Taveniere of Woods. There's a track out already titled "I Heard You Say" which can be downloaded here.

TRACKLIST: Share The Joy
1. The Other Girls
2. I Heard You Say
3. Dance (If You Wanna)
4. Lake House
5. Trying to Pretend
6. Sixteen Ways
7. Take It as It Comes
8. Vanishing of Time
9. Death
10. Light in Your Eyes

(via p4k)

James Blake Album Sampler

There was something on the NPR website this morning that asked what the best new music of the year was so far. This. (Writer's Note: and Earth Girl Helen Brown. Fucking love that record.)
Eleven minute sampler below, and the track list as well. Record comes out February 7th via Atlas/A&M.

James Blake LP tracklist
1. Unluck
2. The Wilhelm Scream
3. I Never Learnt to Share
4. Lindisfarne I
5. Lindisfarne II
6. Limit to Your Love
7. Give Me My Month
8. To Care (Like You)
9. Why Don't You Call Me
10. I Mind
11. Measurements

(via gvsb)

27 January 2011

Quick Hits

This is probably as much relevancy as one can handle. So much so that crisp ashes have just been deposited into my freshly opened can of National Bohemian. (Writer's Note: I sincerely wish I was making this up, but I literally just snuffed a cigarette out in my beer. Total accident, but still something I'll have to live with for eternity.)

-Wilco Start Record Label
Over the summer it was announced that veritable lords of really great rocknroll/alt-country, Wilco, had left whatever record label they were on. This is fully confirmed today as news broke through the internets that Jeff Tweedy and company had started their own jaunt. dBpm is the name, and releases will be distributed through ANTI-. The band has a short May tour planned with no east coast dates, but it appears a new record is in the works.

-Rad New Ducktails Single Needs Funding
Matthew Mondanile is in the group Real Estate, and is also Ducktails. Recently, a song was made featuring Noah Lennox better known as Panda Bear. The song is called "Killin' the Vibe", and is technically available on vinyl and itunes but efforts are being made for it to get the 12" treatment. A Kickstarter has been created to get it out, and contributions can be made here. Qualified charitable donations will result in cassette mixes of unreleased songs and other real cool things.

-No Age music video
One of the most favorite, No Age, have a new video for the track "Fever Dreaming". Boom.
(via p4k)

25 January 2011

Earth Girl Helen Brown - "Story of an Earth Girl"

This is what internet dreams are made of. These sounds conjure up feelings that have long been stagnant. The Story of an Earth Girl EP is limited to 500 vinyl copies, and the record includes appearances by Sonny Smith of Sonny & the Sunsets, John Dwyer of Thee Oh Sees, members of the Sandwitches, and more. Preorder HERE. Available from Forest Family records on or around March 1st.
Via the Forest Family website concerning the Helen Brown origin, "Rampant drug use, frequent fainting on stage, and occasional self-inflicted knife wounds on stage led to more interest in her stage antics than her music. However, a few sides did emerge in the late '90s (recording dates unknown), which feature a unique mix of country, girl group, R&B, and ghoulishness." (via)
Video for the title track below. Say l-o-v-e.
(via gvsb)

Evan Voytas - "Tomorrow Night We'll Go Anywhere"

Haven't updated in this space like it should be done, but work has me bent over a barrel as of late. This could have been a post about the track list for the new Strokes record or the Panda Bear joint, or it could have been an announcement about the few shows that Down are about to play, but this video has Kate Moss in it. Directed by Jamie Harley
In related news, my CD player is broken.

21 January 2011

Yo La Tengo @ the Trocadero, Philadelphia, 1/20/11

"When we planned this tour, there was nothing we looked forward to more than the groans of disappointment."
As advertised there was a wheel of fortune spun to decide the fate of the first set, and while a sitcom reanactment was clearly the popular choice and the personal hope was for a set by the Condo Fucks, the truth of the matter was everyone was still faced with a 12.5% percent chance of dreams coming true. The wheel landed on Sounds of Science Pt II, and that was cool too.
The entire show was great, with a second set full of more known cuts such as "Autumn Sweater" and "Pass the Hatchet, I Think I'm Goodkind" and quite a possibly a cover or two by Tyrone Hill. Opinions may vary, but at the end of the day this was still a damn good band playing music for a captivated live audience. Apparently, Yo La Tengo loves playing Philadelphia and even if that's not actually the case, all were certainly appreciative.
This was the first night of the wheel spinning adventure, and from the looks of it things went off without a hitch. If the marker lands on Sounds of Science Pt. II for the next several nights consecutively then there may be issues with variation but the whole concept is ambitious nonetheless. Truthfully, they could have played whatever they wanted and gotten away with it. A tremendous amount of reverence hung in the air, and the drinks were only mildly overpriced.

17 January 2011

New Weedeater Album

Simply put, Weedeater is fucking awesome. A premier group in this writer's humble opinion, and the fact that the one of them blew his big toe off with a shotgun a few months back only cements their status in my soul.
Not only is there a new record on the way, but there is a big time tour to follow. The album will be titled Jason... The Dragon, and will drop March 15 via Southern Lord. The shows start on February 18 in Wilmington, NC, and commence on the 26th of March in Savannah, GA. Stops of note include Baltimore on February 22, Philadelphia on February 23, and SXSW on March 18. ASG will be the openers from Feb. 18 to the 25th, and then Zoroaster joins for the remainder.
Tracklist for Jason... The Dragon below.

1. The Great Unfurling
2. Hammerhandle
3. Mancoon
4. Turkey Warlock
5. Jason....the Dragon
6. Palms and Opium
7. Long Gone
8. March of the Bipolar Bear
9. Homecoming
10. Whiskey Creek

(all via BV)

15 January 2011

New Panda Bear Album

While this exact same headline and lead-in picture have been used before the news remains the same. However, this time it is really happening. Noah Lennox's highly anticipated follow-up joint Tomboy will be released on April 19 via Paw Tracks.
Additionally, thanks to Gorilla Vs Bear for posting this video so that I could post it as well. It features a new Panda Bear song, "Atiba Song", and skateboarding.

(via gvsb)